Sound Sculpture Monday, November 4th, 8:00am

My Daily Practice involves me drawing a little picture on my phone. It doesn’t really generate any sound, but I thought I could make the sound of tapping on a phone. My idea was to make little bags that when they hit the backboard, they make a light tapping sound. Coming up with this idea was relatively easy but I wasn’t quite sure how to actually build it. It seemed easy looking at the sketch but when I sat down to build it, I realized I had no idea what I was doing. After a while I got the hang of it and built what looked like a tiny theater. Some of my ideas didn’t really work like I thought they would, so I had to change stuff around; instead of using heavy paper for the backboard, I had to swap out for more cardboard. You can also see the pizza box I used for the front and I’ve been trying to cover it up but its harder than I thought it would be. I decided to paint the bags some common colors that I use, but I didn’t realize until after that doing so would change the sound of when they hit the backboard. The pitch of the bags is a little sharper than tapping on your phone, but I think it worked out pretty well.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started